Honorary Presidents

  H. M. Lord Lieutenant of Cumbria,  The High Sheriff of Cumbria


J. H. Harris Esq.  J. P.,  D. L.

Vice Presidents

  W. V. Gubbins Esq.,  The Lord Hothfield D. L.

Sports Manager:-

Sqn Ldr George Gale RAF (Rtd)


 Trade Manager

Mrs Val Gale

Bellman: Mr Tommy Sedwick, Starter: Mr K. Hunton, Timekeeper:  Mr G. Payne

Hound Trail Officials:-  B. Laidler (Chairman H. T. A.), Margaret Baxter (Secretary H. T. A.), D. Lawson,  R. Pratt

Wrestling Officials:-  J. Bland, G. Fox,  J. Harrington, T. Harrington, E. Younger,

V. Cummings,  J. Brown, P. Thompson, R. Murray, P. Barber, I. Parsons, J. Richardson, J. Wharton, P. Gibson, J. Wilson

Clerks on the Table, Female Judges & Referees:-  L. Scott, I. Harrington, N. Hayhurst, F. Pringle, C. Coulthard, R. Marston, G. Gibson, M. Brocklebank, G. Stainton,

Wrestling Manager

Mr C. Bland

Hound Trail Manager

Mr C. Swainson

Fell Race Manager

Mr P. Bland

Track / Sprint Race Manager

Mr M. McGlincy


Mr Graham Bott

Commentators:- Peter Hayhurst, Alf Harrington,  Gavin Fox,  Fell Racing: Pete Bland, Track Racing: Mark McGlincy

Fell Races are marshalled by members of The Fell Running Association.

Thanks are extended to all Officials, Stewards and Competitors who support these sports.

Also to The St. John Ambulance Brigade, Ambleside and the Mountain Trauma Team who provide medical support on the Sports Day.

Additionally the Directors wish to express their thanks to the Farmers and Landowners whose land the Fell Runners & Hounds cross.

Finally, thanks are due to Ambleside Kirkstone Rotary Club for helping with the parking and Windermere 1264 Sqn ATC for providing programme sellers.






Much of the content on this website is copyright of 'Grasmere Sports - The First 150 Years' and must not be copied, reproduced or distributed in any way without the express permission of the author